Not only that but we put pressure on ourselves to meet these unrealistic social 'norms'. We need to have a house by X, we need to be married by X and popping out babies by X. But unfortunately life doesn't always fit into these plans we have for ourselves and why should it? When I was younger I imagined by 23 I would feel like an adult and have my shit together, but the truth is I don't feel any different, I don't feel any more of an adult than I did when I was 18. Don't get me wrong a lot has changed, I have changed and I have learned a lot. But this feeling of being an 'adult' hasn't seemed to have occurred. I pay bills, I work, I cook, I clean, I book my appointments to see the doctor/dentist/optician, I even drive but I still don't feel like an adult. I still call my mum if I need to know something, be it how to make the best roast potatoes or what I should do if my tire pressure sign comes on. In all honesty, my mum is a godsend. Also, Dad if you are reading this so are you!
I also feel living in London changes your perspective on life. Everything happens so fast here, yet I feel like everyone has their life on pause. People seem to be less settled and not in the bad sense. Friends outside London seem to be settling down and planning their future with their partners and my friends in London just seem to be trying to themselves. No rush into settling down, just embracing 'London life'. Neither option is wrong, I just find it interesting how different we are.
Coming out of a long-term relationship, the idea of dating and speaking to new people is extremely daunting. You never feel ready. Whether you've been single for a month, a year, 16 months - you never feel like you are ready to put yourself back out there. But sometimes you have to put yourself out there to realise that in fact, you are. But doing that comes with setbacks. Not every person you speak to has the same morals/opinions as you and sometimes a screen changes how we behave. People say things via the internet that they might not say in real life or do things that they might not do in real life. For example, my personal favourite/pet peeve. Ghosting. 👻
I feel like the urban dictionary sums it up well.
Ghosting - The act of suddenly ceasing all communication with someone the subject is dating, but no longer wishes to date. This is done in hopes that the ghostee will just "get the hint" and leave the subject alone, as opposed to the subject simply telling them he/she is no longer interested. Ghosting is not specific to a certain gender and is closely related to the subject's maturity and communication skills. Many attempt to justify ghosting as a way to cease dating the ghostee without hurting their feelings, but it in fact proves the subject is thinking more of themselves, as ghosting often creates more confusion for the ghostee than if the subject kindly stated how he/she feels.
This is something I've experienced personally and probably something we will all experience in modern dating. And it's shit. It leaves you feeling confused and questioning what you did wrong/could have done differently. But the reality is nothing. You have probably done nothing wrong and you definitely shouldn't have done anything differently. If someone doesn't like you, for you then screw them and if they didn't even have the decency to tell you then they are definitely not worth your time or your emotions. Easier said than done, trust me I know!
I feel like there is a lot more I could say on this topic but for now, that's me done. Time to get off my ass & out of bed. So I'll leave you here with a picture I found very apt!😂


