The world wide web is a big thing and was a massive step forward for technology in 1989. It's crazy how that was only 26 years ago. If you said to the youth of today if you were born a generation or two before, you wouldn't have had internet they would have gone mad. You can interact with people not just all over the country but all over the world. And with the world wide web came a whole new language and way of living. We are so reliant on the internet we don't even realise, however I don't think this is all bad. If we don't know something we 'google it', a term which has been coined from the internets existence. If we are in pain, we google it. If we are lost, what do we do? We GOOGLE it. If we are hungry, we google it. Not only that, but in more recent years nearly every individual owns a smart phone. An every smart phone seems to have an 'app' for everything, from banking to social media to emails and dieting. If you want it, the app store most likely has it.
Now this is where the not so good part comes in.. we are so reliant on our technology that without it we wouldn't know what to do and this what some (generally older) people hate. They hate how technology has taken over our lives. How we rely on our phones for everything, to get us from A to B, to make lists on, to contain our every detail. Or how retail employers are losing their jobs to machines. A machine that breaks, a machine that confuses them, a machine that they think isn't as kind or as helpful as a person. This may be the case at times. However I think we should embrace what the future holds. Technology is now a part of our every day lives so instead of shunning it away, embrace it. It's clever and it's helpful.
And this is where my main point starts to this blog. The internet is so powerful and the most recent project to go viral just proves this the "#nomakeupselfie" Raising £1million in just 24 hours, probably the quickest ever amount of time to raise such an astonishing amount of money! However people still feel the need to hate and put others down. Theres so many things I could say to these people, but here's just a few. For a start stop complaining about people giving to charity do you know how selfish you sound? Think of it like this, you're complaining about people helping others. Really? Do you have any more rights than anyone else, are you on any higher ground than the person next to you? No, you're not. So if you haven't go anything nice to say don't say it. Also people are complaining because they're saying how is a picture of a girl with no make up going to cure cancer. Okay so maybe you don't understand, it's not the 'selfie' that cures cancer but it's the awareness this campaign is making. I bet if you looked at your feed now you couldn't scroll down the page without seeing at least 2/3 pictures of girls with no make up. So the campaign works, it's bringing cancer research into the lime light where they need to be to get people to donate. People say that it's "All good to give to research but does it really take FB to make all of these people give?" I understand this person's point, however on a day to day basis we don't all think about cancer, it's true unless it's affecting our lives in some way we just don't think about it. And that's not wrong. It's not wrong at all. It's just natural. We can't spend every day being negative, however we can do our part every once in a while to help out, most of us aren't rich, we don't have all the money in the world and need a lot of our own money to look after our own families. So whether you just share the picture and don't donate, the person you share it with may donate and the person they share it with may do as well. It's just a chain reaction. A chain reaction that WORKS. Also some of these people complaining were the people taking part in 'Neknominations', what good did that do? All it did was cause 5 deaths and a little laughter, it's all a bit of fun, but take it to the extreme lengths and it's not fun anymore is it? Also to the people that were complaining about cancer research using facebook to advertise their charity, what's actually so bad about getting people to donate to a good cause? Because I can't see one. Oh and to the shallow males that are enjoying putting females down for their natural beauty and then complaining that girls wear too much make-up or look fine without it just shut up.
So I thought I'd do my part today. For every person that likes my 'nomakeupselfie' on facebook in the next 24 hours I said i'd donate 50p and up to a maximum of £50. No I am not rich, but it doesn't hurt to do something for someone else for a change. In today's society everyone is becoming far to self indulged, why not do something for someone else for a change, it's actually quite rewarding.
Together we can make a difference.
41 likes and counting!

No comments:
Post a Comment